Subha Aluth Awuruddak Wewa!


Happy New Year!

The Dawn of the New Year begins on April 13th when the sun enters Meena Rashiya (the house of Pisces), the transition to the next year continues for 12 hours into April 14th whilst the sun moves in to Mesha Rashiya (the house of Aries). Traditional celebrations such as over boiling milk as a sign of prosperity, sharing the national sweet ‘kiribath’ with neighbours, and visiting the temple for the anointment of oil, purifying one’s mind and body for the New Year ahead.